- About Us
- People, Place & History
- Capital Projects
- Public Programs & Events
- Neighborhood Preservation Center
- Get Involved
HOME: ABOUT THE LANDMARK FUND
The St. Mark’s Historic Landmark Fund was founded by a group of concerned citizens in 1979 following a devastating fire at St. Mark’s Church In-the-Bowery, a remarkable East Village ensemble of buildings and landscaped property dating back to 1799. Originally the Citizens to Save St. Mark’s, the Landmark Fund embarked on an ambitious renewal project and—in a program that drew national attention—rebuilt the church.
The 1979 fire destroyed the church steeple and consumed the sanctuary and the Parish Hall. The restoration of the buildings took 10 years and was carried out by local artisans, master craftspeople and participants of the Preservation Youth Project, a job-training program for low-income residents of the surrounding community.
In 1988, disaster struck again, when a fire roared through the historic Ernest Flagg Rectory Building. Again the Landmark Fund—and the community—rose to the task, rebuilding the Rectory and creating the Neighborhood Preservation Center. The Center is a unique and highly successful partnership of city-wide historic preservation efforts dedicated to aiding and encouraging citizen participation in the improvement of New York’s diverse neighborhoods and cultural heritage.
The St. Mark’s Historic Landmark Fund looks both forward and back—back to the rich history of the St. Mark’s Church site, which it is committed to preserving—and forward to the future, to ensuring that St. Mark’s continues to flourish as a vital part of the community.
Click on the links below to read our past newsletters: